Tory Majority Day 74: I Feel Like 7 Sacks Of Sh*te, Post Exertional Malaise and MECFS

I.feel.So.Ill.

I’ve got that sea-sick feeling in my head and stomach. My balance is off, as if an earthquake is happening and I can’t get my feet firmly on the rolling ground.

My head is pounding and throbbing in time with the rolling ground.

I started sneezing this morning. I can feel tickling in my throat, like a cold is coming.

I am stretched out on my sofa and even the thought of getting up and walking across the room is a step too far. It feels like I’ve been bodysnatched.

I am feeling this way because I did too much physically this week.

THIS my friends, is why MECFS is not like normal, average exhaustion. This is why it is diagnosed by the severity of these symptoms, which are beyond anything a person without MECFS would feel.

This is the largest, biggest red flag. It is waving in front of my face. It is blowing sirens at me. It is telling me I have pushed my body beyond what it can deal with.

This, my friends, is post-exertional malaise. This is such a big part of what having MECFS feels like, yeah, and the rest, I hear you say.

The only thing I can do, is do nothing. Hunker down, enact Emergency Powers, which means do absolutely nothing but lay flat and rest.

The thing is I can’t. I have to view 2 flats today, I have to go shopping, I have no food in and I have to spend an hour at my silver surfer Dad’s getting a sofa bed moved into my rest room. The irony of that is not lost on me.

This is why this entire search for somewhere to live is so bloody dangerous and damaging.

One of the things I’ve learned about having ME is that it’s often after you rest that the post-exertional malaise happens. You think you’ve escaped it and BANG! there it is.

Enacting Emergency Powers means deciding what I will strike off the list of things that I have to do today. I won’t even wash up, I won’t pack any boxes, I won’t be able to do that once I’ve done these other things. I won’t be able to talk to any estate agents either, the conversations will push me further over the edge.

Right. Emergency Powers sorted.

I have to stand up now….3,2,1…..

© Lindy 2015

Leave a Reply

