Tory Majority Day 30: Cooking For The Week Ahead – Vegetarian Brown Rice Lentil Risotto

Having cooked in a rush last week and when I was tired, I had to rethink about how to approach my weekly cooking day differently.

Well, let’s face it – it’s one thing riding high on the energy that exists when I wake up and going hell for leather with a massive advance cook for the week ahead, but it means nothing if a combination of too much to cook and too many CFSME symptoms lands me in A&E as a result!

It completely writes off any benefit from using electrical energy or personal energy once in a big weekly cook.

So, self care was my mission this week as I went into another fuel-poverty and ESA busting cooking session. I took it more gently and locked away the mandoline. Only quite blunt cooking knives were used and I had a lot of rest breaks as it got finished.

Here’s what I cooked. As usual I then put it into separate take away boxes in the fridge for heating in the microwave.

It will be my main meal for this week.

Meat free 

It’s meat – free because I can’t afford a lot of meat in my diet. I feel it’s good for me to eat a mainly vegetarian diet because it helps my immunity and overall health too.

Cost

I had some ingredients already, like the seasoning, rice and the lentils. I grow my own sage. The other ingredients came to about £6.00.

Adding meat in 

If you want to add meat, go right ahead. I think diced chicken would be nice – let me know how it tastes if you try it. That will increase the cost though and I didn’t because of cost and that I’m fine with eating the veggie version.

Courgette, sweet potato and squash lentil and brown rice risotto

You will need

1 packet of green lentils

brown rice

1 courgette

1 small squash

1 onion

3 small sweet potatoes

a garlic bulb

mixed herbs

2 vegetable stock cubes

Cooking oil

pepper

a nob of butter

soured cream / natural yogurt

sage leaves ( I grow mine in the garden )

Method 

 

Cover the bottom of a large and deep cooking pan with oil. Put on a medium heat on the hob.7disabledintorybritain

Peel and roughly slice fresh garlic bulbs – the amount is to your taste. I used 7 segments.

Slice your courgette and onion.

Add the garlic bulbs, courgette and onion to the oil and gently stir while they cook. Add some cracked black pepper and a shake of mixed herbs too. Leave to gently cook.

In the meanwhile, peel and slice the sweet potatoes into chip sized chunks.

Add to an oven baking dish with a few nobs of butter and sage leaves.6disabledintorybritain

Put the squash on an oven dish.

Put that and the sweet potatoes in the oven for about 1/2 an hour – 40 minutes at about 180 degrees / gas mark 6.

Return to the pan on the hob.5disabledintorybritain

When the courgette, onion and garlic is browned, add about a cup of green lentils or more if you like to.

Make up about 1 liter of hot water / 2 vegetable stock cubes.

Add to the pan and stir to make sure the lentils and other ingredients are mixed in.

Get the brown rice and measure out enough to be absorbed by the water. Add to the mixture.4disabledintorybritain

Keep this mixture gently cooking.

When the sweet potatoes and squash is cooked remove them from the oven. By now the lentil / brown rice should have absorbed most of the fluid in the pan.1disabledintorybritain

Cut the squash in half and scoop out the seeds. Discard the seeds. Scoop out the soft flesh of the squash using a spoon and add each spoonful to the mixture in the pan on the hob. Stir.

Finally, add all the sweet potato chips to the mixture and stir.

Serve with a dollop of soured cream or yoghurt.

It tastes nutty from the lentils and the sage and sweet potatoes gives it a sweet tinge too. 2disabledintorybritain

Ta daa! and I’m pleased to say – no accidents this time 🙂

© Lindy 2015 

Leave a Reply

